New(ish) Member Swing Video

New(ish) Member Swing Video  

By: Mark L on Feb. 13, 2023, 3:44 p.m.

I’ve been a member for about nine months and this is my first swing video upload.

Some background: Years ago I was a 10-11 handicap. I am now an 18 and I’ve been trying to rebuild my swing the last two years.

I’ll be 52 next week. I’m a longtime martial artist, former college athlete, and I lift weights a few times a week, and do you light cardio. (And yes, I’m trying to get the extra weight off.)

I’ve uploaded driver swings and 7-iron swings. I’ve been striking the ball better, but I had no idea how short my backswing has gotten until I saw the videos today.

Tyler, is there any hope? :)

Re: New(ish) Member Swing Video  

By: Tyler F on Feb. 18, 2023, 11:51 a.m.

Hi Mark,

Thanks for posting your swing and letting me help in your process. I may be biased, but I think there is always hope.

I think the lowest hanging fruit with your swing is working on getting your steeps and shallows more balanced. It gets quite steep in transition and then you have a fair amount of upper body standing up through the release. This can cause toe hits, fat/thin shots and overall inconsistent ball striking.

The big issue is that your trail shoulder tends to throw during the downswing (it protracts or comes up as if you were covering the ball with it). In fact, if you look at your set up position, you can see that your shoulders are a little bit open (can't see any of the left arm) because that right shoulder is up and out. I'd start there. if your right arm is more tucked, and you feel like your shoulders are closed at set up, then you'll be free to rotate better during the release.