Cant stop flipping

Cant stop flipping  

By: Daniel H on June 13, 2022, 4:40 p.m.

Tyler,

I love the website and the idea of being my own coach... Even after watching tons of videos and trying to "practice" shaft lean with the drills I still suffer from early extension and am extremely flippy at contact.
Video1
Though I've tried them all, I've been mostly concentrating on some short swings and the delivery and go drills, but can't seem to make any headway breaking my habit...
My delivery and go's still seem a bit scoopy through contact, but I am not sure where I am going wrong. And nothing translates as I make the swing longer and faster.
Video2
I have had some luck with a better impact position with a shaft extension, but as soon as I take it away, I'm back to flipping.
Video3
Even though I know better, a short 9-3 or 10-2 is still very flippy through contact.
Video4

Ugh... Clearly I am a terrible coach! Can you help with this? I would really like to improve. My own analysis just isnt working...

Thanks for your time.

Dan

Re: Cant stop flipping  

By: Tyler F on June 16, 2022, 8:11 a.m.

Hi Dan,

I agree that the shaft extender is the best. Let's look at why. See the attached pictures.

In your swing, it looks like you have a pretty strong pull of the left arm inward and the hands give the appearance of flipping. I'm guessing if we looked at DTL, we would also see the right shoulder quite high at that point. I think you need to look at the left arm high/don't break my arms/Moe Norman idea. If you look at the lead arm in your impact pictures, you'll see how much more space there is between the left arm and the body. That's helpful for fixing the flip

I'd be curious to see your lead and trail arm only drills. I think the lead arm could be really helpful for you to train it to feel more of a lift and space rather than a tight connection.

Either post a DTL or lead arm only and we can add a little more detail

Tyler